The Mighty Lemon Drops is a band that I kinda admired from a distance.  And my admiration for them traveled a long, winding road….

image

I remember buying a locally (I think) produced compilation tape called “Different Tribes” way back in my teens.  I bought it mainly because Terry Hall‘s cover of “Windmills of Your Mind” was there.  Although I knew some of the songs included – and almost instantly I have grown to love all of the other songs included such as Generation X‘s “Kiss Me Deadly” and Stiff Little Fingers‘ little play/homage to the Sex Pistols called “Crap on the Radio”.  What I find weird at least now is that it included not one, but two songs by the Mighty Lemon Drops: “Inside Out” and “Out of Hand”.  Of course, I already knew those songs prior to my purchase of said compilation.  But repeated listening made me love them.

Fast-forward to this morning when I finally got to listen to their best-of compilation, “Rollercoaster”.  That’s when I found out they were also responsible for a long-lost but never forgotten track called “Into the Heart of Love”.  It’s a song that I have always found myself singing over the years.  That catchy and heart-wrenching chorus of “It’s my decision….”  would ring in my ears from time to time for absolutely no reason at all.  Imagine my surprise when I actually heard it again this morning.  I already found the intro guitar theme familiar.  But it was when that chorus came in that I almost floated away!  (This experience very much ties in with my post below about Spotify.)
Now, I can’t get enough of the Mighty Lemon Drops.  I’ll probably end up listening to them again tomorrow morning.  It also helps that the other sixteen songs I didn’t know are also very good.

On another note – I was beginning to listen to “The Feeding of the 5000” by Crass before I switched to Lemon Drops.  I just found The Feeding a bit of a heavy listen for the Lenten Season.  Several seconds into the first song alone and I just had to stop.  Maybe another day.  I’m glad I decided to listen to the Mighty Lemon Drops instead, though.  It’s one of the best decisions I’ve made.  Yes, it’s my decision!

