Image

I often question myself why I dedicate a lot (A LOT) of time in fixing up/organizing my music libraries.  Aside from the usual stack of CDs and cassettes (and a handful of vinyl, I ashamedly admit), I am now on my third iPod.  And also, I have my favourites on my phone.  And, as if those aren’t enough,  I keep signing up to streaming music services (aside from the usual online radio stations) like Spotify, exfm and Grooveshark – each one more or less with the same set of songs that I already have on my phone and iPod.

Image

The answer came to me this morning as I drive to work.  While listening to my “phone collection” no less.  I am very much scared of getting stuck somewhere without my music.  God forbid that I lose my iPod,  I’d still have access to at least a large number of my favourites.  I say a large number because after all these years, every day of every waking life I still remember songs that I’ve yet to include in my collection.  This is just never gonna end….